Rigg Design Prize

National Gallery of Victoria

NGV Australia, Federation Square

18 September 2015 - 7 February 2016

Recognising excellence in contemporary Australian design, the Rigg Design Prize is the highest accolade for object and furniture design in Australia. The triennial prize is awarded to an Australian designer displaying outstanding creative achievements in contemporary design practice.

Formerly the Cicely & Colin Rigg Contemporary Design Award, the invitational award was established in 1994 to support contemporary craft and design practice in Victoria. In 2015, this prestigious award begins a new chapter by including designers from around Australia.

Curated by the Department of Contemporary Design & Architecture, the Rigg Design Prize 2015showcases a significant body of work from seven outstanding designers. Identified for producing the most interesting and compelling object and furniture design in Australia today, the shortlisted participants include Adam Goodrum (NSW), Brodie Neill (TAS), Daniel Emma (SA), Kate Rohde (VIC), Khai Liew (SA), Korban/Flaubert (NSW) and Koskela (NSW) in collaboration with the weavers of Elcho Island Arts (NT).

International contemporary designers Gijs Bakker (The Netherlands) and Wava Carpenter (USA), judged the Rigg Design Prize 2015 and awarded the accolade to Adam Goodrum for his work Unfolding. 

Establishing a picture of contemporary Australian design that is independent, original, and expressive of contemporary issues and values, the Rigg Design Prize 2015 exhibition features object and furniture design that ranges from the overtly functional to the highly conceptual.